School Nutrition Program Wins Slew Of Awards – Jeff Davis Ledger

Alisa Jones (proper) accepts award from
School Superintendent Dr. Chris Roppe

Members of the Jeff Davis County School Nutrition Program are, from left, School Nutrition Director Alisa Jones, lunchroom managers Angela Burkett (highschool), Peggy Sickles (center college), Margaret Rentz (elementary college), Cathy Tanner (main college), and Tammy Toler (Pre-Okay). At proper is School Superintendent Dr. Chris Roppe.

When Jeff Davis County School Nutrition Program (SNP) Director Alisa Jones took over the job from retiring SNP Director Janice Conley, she found shortly that she had so much to be taught.
With over a decade crunching the numbers for the SNP, she understood effectively the monetary aspect of this system. But working this system that feeds 1000’s of Jeff Davis County college students at 5 areas was a unique story. Fortunately, she says, she had a seasoned employees of lunchroom managers to work with who helped her by way of her studying curve and he or she’s fast to laud their expertise and dedication to their work.
Working as a staff, Jones and lunchroom managers Angela Burkett, Peggy Sickles, Margaret Rentz, Cathy Tanner and Tammy Toler have made nice strides and, because of their work, they introduced house what was termed “a slew of awards” from the Georgia School Nutrition Association annual awards ceremony.
The awards had been a spotlight of Monday night time’s assembly of the Jeff Davis County Board of Education.
Jones received the Beyond the Plate award; Rentz introduced house the Gold Scroll Award; the Pre-Okay, main and highschool packages had been cited for Consistently High Breakfast Participation; the highschool was acknowledged for a 3% improve in Breakfast Participation; the central workplace, college system and all 5 colleges had been acknowledged for 100% membership within the Association; and the first and elementary colleges drew accolades for 100% certification.
Additionally, the Jeff Davis School District SNP acquired the 2020 Vision signal for excelling in assembly the 2020 Vision for college vitamin.
And Jeff Davis School Superintendent Dr. Chris Roppe offered Mrs. Jones the “No Kid Hungry” award. “Our college vitamin groups are true heroes and have been on the entrance strains since day one,” Dr. Roppe mentioned. “This award acknowledges them for his or her tireless dedication to meals entry and academic fairness.”
While recognizing every of her lunchroom managers and their success tales, Jones went over different particulars of the native SNP together with the dedication to offering recent meals for the county’s college kids. She mentioned that in 2020, the division bought 3,740 circumstances of recent meals — 48,020 lbs. of recent fruit and greens that had been domestically grown. And this system reached out to a number of farmers in neighboring counties along with Jeff Davis County farmers.
Jones shared with the board that the division’s aim is to get kids to the cafeteria to eat. For most of the kids, the varsity breakfast and lunch are the one two meals the youngsters get every college day.
In different motion at Monday’s assembly, the board ….
…. authorized SNP bid rollovers.
…. okayed an out of state journey request for the highschool boys basketball staff to attend camp in Denmark, S.C.
…. accepted the low bid to put in out of doors aluminum bleachers on the center college from H.E. Hodge Company for $25,984.
…. awarded the bid to restore fences on the tennis courts to National Fence Company with the low bid of $6,000 and an extra $5,000 to strengthen the alternative 4 strains to forestall the identical sort of injury.
…. placed on the desk for public evaluate coverage updates on workers leaves and absences, and aggressive interscholastic actions for grades 6-12.
…. authorized a spending decision for July, 2021, and a funds modification for fiscal 12 months 2020-2021.
…. heard monetary studies from Finance Director Betty Corbitt.
…. accepted the retirement of Linda Hutchinson and the resignations of Susan Moore and Wanda Dykes.
…. named Paul Glass assistant athletic director; authorized part-time academics and custodial employees for 2021-2022; named Tammy Toler Pre-Okay Cafeteria Manager; transferred Linda Sharon Alday from a 4-hour place to a 6-hour place as a SNP Assistant; and authorized the extracurricular dietary supplements.
…. heard that the faculties acquired the Georgia Education Workers’ Compensation Trust Safety Award for sustaining a 25% or decrease loss ratio for 2020.
…. had been knowledgeable that Dr. Roppe, Board Chairman Roger Ogilvie, Assistant Superintendent Chuck Crosby and County Commission Chairman Brad Crews had toured the FFA Show Barn.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Adrian

Leave a Reply