Exercise, good nutrition boost your immune system

LUMBERTON — UNC Health Southeastern introduced awards honoring three workers for distinguished service and management, and for size of steady service throughout the well being care supplier’s annual service awards banquet held in a modified format Tuesday within the medical heart’s cafeteria.

Care Coordination Manager Stephanie Smith was named the 2020 winner of the John D. Drake Distinguished Service Award. Population Health Director Suzanne Jackson was named the 2020 winner of the W. Reid Caldwell Jr. Distinguished Leadership Award, and Food and Nutrition Services Expeditor Addie Mae Caple was honored for 50 years of steady service.

“Stephanie’s data and expertise has been described as phenomenal and insurmountable,” mentioned Joann Anderson, UNC Health Southeastern president and CEO. “Patient care and outcomes constantly drive her to turn out to be aware of new practices and requirements of care to make sure that sufferers are given the most effective sources and experiences attainable inside and outdoors of our group. She is self-driven and all the time has a group mentality.”

Smith, who has been with the group for 15 years, lives in Lumberton together with her husband, Joey, and has two sons, Jordan and Garret. She is the thirty fourth particular person to be named winner of the Drake Award, which was established by the board of trustees in 1988 to acknowledge distinctive service by workers. The Drake award was named in honor of the late John D. Drake, who retired as head prepare dinner in 1984 after 38 years of service.

To qualify for the Drake award, an worker should display excessive requirements for private efficiency on the job, loyalty and dedication to the group, a superb attendance file, respect by fellow employees, management abilities, and a caring angle to fellow workers and company of the group.

Jackson has labored for the group for 22 years. Her accountability areas embody Care Coordination, Southeastern Hospice and Southeastern Hospice House, and WoodHaven Nursing, Alzheimer’s, and Rehabilitation Center. She lives in Lumberton together with her husband, Derek, and their son, Tanner.

“Suzanne excels in all areas of her skilled life, courageously stepping out and accepting new alternatives and new challenges,” Anderson mentioned. “She leads her group with readability of the objectives outlined and the eagerness of a pacesetter making an attempt to realize excellence. She is tenacious in reaching a aim, helps her group and appears to them to display the success.”

To qualify for the Caldwell award, which was established in June 2016 in honor of former Vice President and Government Affairs Officer Reid Caldwell, a UNC Health Southeastern chief should serve on the director degree or increased with 5 or extra years of service and should exemplify the success of the mission, imaginative and prescient, values and requirements of conduct of the group whereas serving as a mentor to different leaders, eradicating obstacles and contributing to a studying and advancing group.

Smith and Jackson have been awarded a framed certificates and an engraved watch as a part of their respective awards. Their names might be added to plaques which are completely displayed within the medical heart’s predominant hall.

Caple, initially from Pembroke and at the moment residing in Lumberton, first joined the group in 1957 and labored till 1970, leaving the group for 3 months in 1970 earlier than returning with continued service for 50 years since her return. She has labored within the Food and Nutrition Services division all through her profession. Her daughter is Stephanie Caple and her sisters are Gale Blackmon, Aggie Rogers and Dorothy McRae.

“I need to thanks for the final 50 years of serving Southeastern and our neighborhood,” Anderson mentioned. “On behalf of the board of trustees, the executive group and the complete group, thanks on your dedication and for every part that you’ve got served us over the previous 50 years, particularly your buttermilk pie!”

Caple joins 4 different UNC Health Southeastern workers who reached the 50-year milestone: Beatrice Leggett, Hal Stephens, Phyllis Richardson and Jesse Stephens.

Previous winners of the Drake award have been: 1988, Julia Harris; 1989, Addie Mae Caple; 1990, Beatrice Leggett and Vashti Pittman; 1991, Thelma Jean Reeves; 1992, Paula McLean; 1993, Shirley Thompson; 1994, Sonya Oxendine; 1995, Terry Carter; 1996, Vera McDowell; 1997, Jimmy Page; 1998, James E. Jones; 1999, JoAnn Falls and Myrtle Oxendine; 2000, Patricia Davis; 2001, Sherri Hayes; 2002, Doris Madden; 2003, Mary Catherine Buie; 2004, Noel Bounds; 2005, Cynthia George; 2006, Rhonda Carter; 2007, Anne Marie Hendren; 2008, Myrtle Wilcox; 2009, Audrey Cox; 2010, Bryan Hilbourn; 2011, Merry Hardin; 2012, Gerard McRae; 2014, Jeff Edge; 2015, Lisa A. Hunt; 2016, Lori Corbett; 2017, Jeanine Lawson; 2018, Phillip Knecht; and 2019, Heather McQueen.

Previous winners of the Caldwell award have been Elizabeth Kirschling, 2016; Cynthia George, 2017; Jonathan Everson, 2018; and Steve Elgin, 2019.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Adrian

Leave a Reply